+94 777 896 268 (Indrajith Fernando) | +61 419 382 142 (Nihal de Run)

The Foundation

It was essential to operate our project under a legal framework. We were not a company, nor an association, we needed to be recognized as a properly constituted charitable organization. We chose to establish a Foundation, and this was done effective 25th September 2011 with the assistance of
Mrs. Pushpa Hettiarachi, our legal counsellor.

This Foundation has a settlor, Dr. David Alexander Young and originally it had five others who were appointed Trustees of the Foundation, namely Nihal de Run, Arjuna Samarakoon, Nalin Pathikirikorala, Indrajith Fernando and Bobby Jordan-Hansen.

Our Vision

Our vision was to build a state of the art, modern Accident & Emergency Trauma facility adjacent to the General Hospital within the premises of the Teaching Hospital in Batticaloa.

Our mission was to harness the financial backing of Sri Lankan commercial enterprises by appealing to the CEOs, MDs and owners of the successful businesses of Sri Lanka. David Young and I used all our negotiation skills to get introductions to decision makers. Our team in Colombo did a magnificent job in opening doors for us and to name some would be unfair, as it was a concerted team effort.

In our project booklet which is embedded in this website we have named the major donors and those that made noteworthy contributions in money or efforts in helping us to achieve the successful end result.

Our Mission

The mission was carried out over ten years from 2011 until 2021 when the last of the objectives, the granting of a substantial donation of US$ 200,000 was pledged towards the procurement of a modern state of the art CT scanner with at least 128 slice capacity to augment the equipment in the radiology room of the A&E.

Fundraising was never easy but some large corporations in Sri Lanka and some very large individual donations got us across the line. We harnessed the knowledge and experience of several people in the Ministry of Health, the Batticaloa Hospital and in the industry to assist with problem solving and to overcome roadblocks.

We selected Gunaratna Associates Architects, by public tender. We were fortunate to have such a co-operative man in Dr. Locana Gunaratna and his wife Shanta as the architects for the project. Locana & Shanta translated our design needs into a workable plan which was accepta­ble to the bureaucracy.

The Ministry chose the Central Engineering & Consulting Bureau (CECB) to build the structure according to our plans. Although we encountered logistical and administrative issues along the way, the building was constructed to our specifications and completed in November 2018.

Special mention must be made of the Director of the hospital, Dr. M. S. Ibralebbe who used his knowledge and experience of the inner workings of the Ministry of Health to steer the project through the bureaucracy within which there were many sceptics and umpteen opponents of giving Batticaloa this modern A&E ahead of other hospitals in Sinhalese dominated areas of the country.

Current Organization

Foundation Supporting a National Trauma Service in Sri Lanka Inc.

Dr. David A. Young is President, Nihal de Run is Executive Vice President and CEO. They are supported by Dr. Greg Hoy and Nalin Pathikirikorala as Vice Presidents, Lorraine Fernando as Executive Secretary, Dave Paramanandan as Deputy CEO, Sathanantha Kirupanantha as Treasurer and Jerome Adams as immediate past CEO. Indrajith Fernando is Financial Controller and Treasurer in Sri Lanka.

Foundation Contacts

- Dr. David Young - President.

- Dr. Greg Hoy - Vice President.

- Nihal de Run - Executive Vice President and CEO.

- Dave Paramanandan - CEO Batticaloa Liaison

- Lorraine Fernando - Executive Secretary.

- Kirupanantha Sathanantha - Treasurer and Financial Controller (AU).

All communication should be addressed to:


Nihal de Run - CEO

Address: 5 Meppel Drive, Clayton South, VIC 3169

Telephone: +61 419 382 142

Email: [email protected]

Sri Lanka

Indrajith Fernando – Treasurer and Financial Controller (SL)

Address: No. 54, Kitulwatte Road Colombo 08

Telephone: +94 777 896 268

Email: [email protected]


Prof (Dr) David de Kretser


Ricky Mendis

Vice Patron

Ralph D’Silva

Vice Patron

Nalin Pathikirikorale

Trustee Colombo

Bobby Jordan Hansen

Trustee Colombo

Indrajith Fernando

Trustee & Financial Controller Colombo

Dr David A Young


Dr Greg Hoy

Vice President

Nihal de Run

Executive Vice President

Dave Paramanadan

CEO Batticaloa Liaison

Sathanantha Kirupananda

Treasurer & Financial Controller Australia

Lorraine Fernando

Executive Secretary

Outer Committee ( Advisory & Support)

- Arjuna Samarakoon

- Dr Reggie Perera

- Sam Rajendran

- Ranjini Dassenaike

- Nalini Joseph

- Riza Muthalip

- Jerome Adams

The Facility

This building won a Gold Award from the Green Buildings authority in Sri Lanka and we are proud of the achievements of our team; especially the Architect Gunaratna Associates and its CEO Dr. Locana Gunaratna.

We needed Neurosurgical facilities, Plastic Surgery, Pediatric Surgical facilities and Eye Surgery facilities. These facilities were scattered throughout the vast hospital premises and not localised in an A&E Unit. This has changed since the new A&E was built.

Making Contributions

Please get in touch with us to find out how to donate

Contributions/donations can be made directly to the following bank accounts


ANZ Banking Corporation
687, Glenferrie Road, Glenferrie
VIC 3122

BSB: 013-332
Account Number: 18403752

Sri Lanka

Commercial Bank of Sri Lanka
21 Bristol Street, Colombo 01

Swift Code: CCEYLKLX
Account Number: 1416300101


To obtain a Tax deduction in Australia, Australian Resident Tax Payers MUST direct their donations to Rotary Australia World Communities Service.